Game 5. Avs-Canadiens. Back and Forth they Go!

Posted: October 15, 2011 in Avs vs. Montreal Canadiens, Game Thoughts

Hey, 4 in a row for the Avs. Gotta love it. Scoring 13 goals in two games? Meh, I guess it’s ok. The Avs offense is hot, and I think it’s safe to say you should find an Av in your fantasy hockey league and pick him up. A win is a win, but there was a lot that I saw that I didn’t like, besides Carey Price’s pink pads.

I will start with the positives though. Hejduk and Duchene have been on fire in the shootouts early in the season. They can’t miss. Both goals from both players made the goalies look silly, and that is the reason we have two of those wins early. You can WATCH the shootout here. Always fun to watch. Also, it was good to see Paul Stastny have a good game with a couple of points. I love the two goals in under a minute from the Avs. Although I will say, I didn’t think Price had a good game at all.

I couldn’t watch all of the game, and the updates I was getting from my phone were crazy. Avs up 4-3. Next time I check, Avs down 5-4. Then 5-5. I had given up honestly when I saw the 5-4, but I’m not complaining now. And I love seeing EJ get a couple more assists. He seems to have opened the floodgates to his point production. Also good to see the Avs score a couple of powerplay goals. Getting the powerplay going these last couple of games has been huge.

The game over pretty ugly overall though. I thought Varly had a poor game. I understand he had 38 saves, but still only had a save percentage around 88. That is Budaj/Elliott material. I also thought that he let in some soft goals. The first goal was pretty soft. The second goal was not great, but it was on the powerplay for MTL so I can’t complain that much. Bad defense on the third, but still soft-ish. Four and five just can’t happen. Not that close together. Five was a good goal, but there was a lot of room for improvement out there.

Here is the trend I’m a little worried about. From our four wins, Boston was Varly’s game, it’s not like the Avs were the better team, just a great performance from the goalie. The Jackets and Senators are terrible teams that we should beat, so I can’t put much stock in those wins just yet. And today, we had to score six goals to get a win. What I’m saying is I don’t think the Avs have had a game yet where have outplayed a decent team. I would have been more happy if they won 3-2 or 4-3 tonight, but 6-5. Come on, they can’t rely on the offense to bail them out like that.

So now come the Leafs. Still undefeated, so I’m hoping the Avs can show what they’ve really got against them on Monday. The game starts at 5 p.m. Mountain.

Also, stay tuned, because I am going to have a trivia challenge sometime in the next week, and the winner will get……A DOLLAR!!!

Leave a Reply

