Game 14. Avs-Flames. *Insert Pun About Avs Being Burned by Flames Here

Posted: November 6, 2011 in Avs vs. Calgary Flames, Game Thoughts

Am I the only one who thinks the Avs have no chance if they are losing after the second period? I understand that Landeskog has scored some clutch goals that have been late, but honestly, I have no confidence in them to score a goal if they are losing in the third. I think a lot of people are still giving the Avs a pass for there play lately because of that 5 game road trip, when I think people need to realize that aside from that, they are 2-6-1. Questions need to be raised.

There were a lot of good things I saw from this game. First was Varlamov, he stopped 21-23, but he played very well, and both of the Calgary goals were very lucky. He bounced back nicely after a few poor games earlier in the week. By now I will be upset if Giguere plays the next game. After letting Varly work through his struggles, there is no way he should start Giggy against the Wings.

And while I never thought I would say this, I have to give him credit: Joe Sacco made a good line change. I am sick of Sacco changing the lines up if one line has a bad game. It drives me crazy. It does not allow for the team to get any chemistry going, but the Stastny-Duchene-Hejduk line looks good. They showed it once again tonight with a goal only 34 seconds into the game. That line plus the O’reilly-Landeskog-Winnik line give the Avs two very good lines. I just feel bad for David Jones, who has been left out of the playmaking lines.

Erik Johnson had a good game tonight, as did Shane O’Brian and Ryan O’Byrne. Honestly I didn’t see too much out there that was bad. The Flames scored two lucky goals, and the only negative thing was the Avs couldn’t put the puck in the net.

Kiprusoff had a good game, but once again, the Avs need to get more than 1 goal. It seemed like they had chances, but just could not convert. 6 of their 14 games this year they have scored 1 goal or less. That is not acceptable. And the only reason they are not near the bottom of the league in goals per game is because they have scored 7 goals against Ottawa, 6 against the Stars, and 6 against the Canadiens. The rest of the games they have scored 20 goals. One more than those three games.

The Avs should be celebrating goals more consistently

I don’t know what else to say, with 2 good lines, I don’t know where a trade would work. Take out Winnik for someone else? That is about the only piece I might want to do. I’m at a loss for what the Avs need to do. Now they go on to play a Detroit team that just snapped a losing streak, and will be desperate for wins. Hopefully the Avs can put together a solid game and get 2 points.

The Avs next home game is on Thursday, against the Islanders, which I will be attending!!! I am pretty excited, I believe my seats are in section 110 row 19 so if you are going to the game, stop by and say hi.

But for now, the Avs play the Wings on Tuesday in Detroit, starting at 5:30 p.m. Mountain time.

Leave a Reply

