Game 21. Avs-Sharks. Early Momentium not Enough for Win

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Avs vs. San Jose Sharks, Game Thoughts

So off and on I have mentioned how when the Avs go down by one, it feels like the game is over. Tonight was no different. So I did a little research, and when the Avs opponent scores a goal to go up by one, the Avs are 6/15 for scoring the next goal. Not bad right? Yeah I was surprised by that number too, but upon looking a little closer I noticed that it has not happened since OCT 22. The Avs have gone a month without scoring the next goal after going down by one. That is unreal. No wonder they can’t win games.

After a very nice goal by Duchene (boy, I seem to be saying that every game now) the Avs could not get the puck in the net, and let in 4 unanswered goals to the Sharks. Duchene’s goal was a pretty play, and it is worth it to WATCH. Honestly, I’m not really sure who to blame here, I didn’t think the defense was bad, except for Erik Johnson. I hate to say it, but I thought he had another poor game. He goes down to the ice way too often, and I think he needs to use his size more, but other than the first Marleau goal, none of the goals were really his fault. And even that one was borderline. He stopped moving his feet and put his stick down, and I’m not sure that was the right play.

Giguere didn’t play bad, but I suspect that Varly will be in net for the next game. The thing about Giggy that I don’t like compared to Varlamov is Giggy just stops the ones he is suppose to. Rarely does he make a great save, and I think Varly had a better chance to keep a goal or two of San Jose’s goals out. I don’t know, but I suspect this three game absence will be a very good think for Varly

I have to give Thomas Greiss credit, because he had a very good game, but the Avs just can’t get the puck into the net, and it is baffling. They have opportunities, but just can’t convert. Even our best players can’t get the job done very often. I think part of it is Sacco, but right now, I think the Avs need to make a move, a big move, and there is one player who I think needs to go in order to get some scoring in return.

Stastny has to go. I like the guy, but he is to the Avs what tabloids are to grocery stores. A lot of people want them, and they contribute to the profit, but you’re not going to reach your goals if they are you rely on them too much. Stastny has 13 points in 21 games. At that pace, he would have 50 points at the end of the year. Lets face it, that is not good enough. But a lot of team are going to want him, because he can be a very good center, especially with someone on a wing who can score. Here is what I propose: The Avs trade Stastny, Galiardi, and the second round pick we got from Toronto for Zach Parise. Stastny could be a great center with Kovalchuk on the wing to score goals. Plus they don’t know if they will be able to keep Parise in free agency, and tell me you would not be elated to see Parise in an Avs uniform. I’m just not sure that Galiardi is enough to get Parise, and as much as I would don’t want too, I think a more realistic team would be Stastny and David Jones and maybe a fourth.

The Avs are still only a few games away from being too far back to have a realistic chance of making the playoffs, which I think they have to do to justify the Varly trade. But I guess all they can do right now, is take it one game at a time and focus on Vancouver.

The Avs next game is Wednesday against the Vancouver Canucks at Pepsi Center. It starts at 7:30 p.m. Mountain time. No reason not to go with getting the next day off anyway. Lets get the Pepsi center sold out.

Leave a Reply

