Game 28. Avs-Canucks. Injury Filled Game Ends in Disappointment for the Avs

Posted: December 6, 2011 in Avs vs. Vancouver Canucks, Game Thoughts

I don’t really know what to make of this game. The score says that the Avs were terrible, and I certainly didn’t think they played as great as Peter McNab made it sound like, but none of the goals were bad goals, and I guess that is the one positive.

Looking back, I can’t really think of one person who stood out that had just a horrible game. The easy pick is Varlamov, but I didn’t think he was awful.

Lets start at the beginning: the first major event was a game was the knee to knee collision between Kevin Porter and David Booth. To a point, I’m taking this stance because I like Porter, but I honestly don’t think it was intentional. Booth’s knee was out there, and Porter was going for a hit, but I don’t think he meant to hit the knee.

But, how about the Avs killing off a 5 minute major against the Sedins. That was impressive, and at that time, I thought the Avs might be able to win. The stats don’t really tell the story, because despite all the Avs shots, I didn’t think they really had any good scoring chances.

I have not seen passing like that from the Sedin brothers before. It seemed tonight they were even more on fire than normal, and just were putting the puck perfectly on the tape. But on the other side, it was the same old story for the Avs offense. I’m sure part of it was only having 10 forwards for the majority of the game, but they just had nothing going tonight.

The injuries tonight were bizarre. So many people were getting hurt on plays that really looked harmless, and that lead to some chippy play late in the third period. Hopefully Ryan Wilson is ok, because he did not return after being hit early in the first, and I honestly thing he is the most important defenseman to this team right now. I have not given him a lot of credit this year, but he certainly deserves some.

The Canucks held the momentum for practically the whole game in my opinion. Starting with the five minute major, they just always seemed to have the puck. The game switched half way through the third when Quincey and Burrows took penalties, and the Canucks went on to score 3 goals during the 4-4. It was at that point, but looking back on it now, it was really the whole game, the Avs just didn’t seem to care about the outcome. It was almost like they knew no one would call them out for a loss because they had 3 in a row. I sure didn’t see a lot of passion out there.

The road does not get any easier for the Avs, as they have to play Calgary and Edmonton on back to back nights, and while it is still fairly early in the big picture, if the Avs lose either of these games, they will once again find themselves clinging to even having a chance at the playoffs in my opinion. These next two games are must wins for the Avs.

The Avs next game is Thursday against the Calgary Flames in Alberta. The game starts at 7 p.m. Mountain Time.

Comments
  1. Advenstor says:

    Falling behind early in just about EVERY game is tough (especially on the road) on the players pysche. If it is a case of the Avs just not being ready and focussed to start the game then thats on Sacco for not having his team ready; I wonder if the Avs just got down mentally because of this;

    • ppajak says:

      For me, it is not the falling behind early that kills me, it is the next goal. I think since the 5 game winning streak, when the other team scores a goal to go up 1, the Avs have scored the next goal only 2 or 3 times. It’s frustrating because they can’t see to answer coming off of a goal from the other team.

Leave a Reply

