Game 35. Avs-Blues. Giguere Wins the Game for the Avs in the Third

Posted: December 22, 2011 in Avs vs. St. Louis Blues, Game Thoughts

Well, the Avs now have a bit of a goalie controversy, at least in my mind. JS Giguere is getting the job done right now, but I think with the price we paid for Varlamov, it is a little silly to have him be the backup.

Seven in a row at home, tying a franchise record, is very impressive, but this game was not without faults. But to start with the positives, Paul Stastny seems to be heating up. I honestly don’t think it is any coincidence that as his game has improved, so has the Avs game. Also, I have to give credit to Matt Hunwick on the Stastny goal, because he made a very nice pass to Stastny’s stick.

Here is a sentence I thought I would never type: In the last 3 games, the Avs leading goal scorer is Cody McLeod. I honestly thought I had a better chance of scoring two goals for the Avs this year. I don’t know if you could ask for two easier goals, one where to goalie makes zero attempt to stop the puck, and the other where he passes it right to you in front of the net, but I’ll take them any way I can get them.

And of course, always nice to score a game winner against your former team, which is exactly what Jay McClement did. Sure it barely crossed the line, but I like to think that McClement simply didn’t want to waste any energy. The further and further away we get from that trade, the more you have to like it.

There were some major problems I noticed in the game, and the Avs probably didn’t deserve to win this one. To start, the Avs simply were outplayed. They scored 2 early goals, and other than that, they had very little offense. The Blues dominated the game, and most of the time was spent in the Avs zone.

They had 1 shot in the third period. I believe after the last game, I said the Avs need to learn how to close out games, and the game against the Blues only confirmed my belief. 1 shot! Really? That simply cannot continue to happen, because eventually the goalies will not be able to bail the team out.

And, the Avs scored 2 fluke goals, especially with the McLeod goal, and possibly the McClement goal. While the offense has improved during the month of December, the reason why they are winning games right now is because in the month of December, they opposing team has only scored more than 2 goals, once, at Pepsi Center. So while I will take any win, there is still a lot of room for improvement.

The Avs next game is Friday against the Tampa Bay Lightning (My favorite Eastern Conference team!) at Pepsi Center. The game starts at 7 p.m. Come out and watch the Avs go for the franchise record for consecutive home wins.

Comments
  1. Advenstor says:

    JS is solid and he will help Varlimov as the season progresses with the mental side of goalie as well as having more experience; I like that the Avs have two guys who can play well; not like last year

    • ppajak says:

      Well said. I really enjoy having confidence in both goalies. While I always had confidence in Budaj, it is nice to have 2 very good goalies. While I think JS is the starter now, I do think that Varlamov should be playing more.

Leave a Reply

