Roster Talk. TRADE: Kyle Quincey to Tampa Bay for Steve Downie

Posted: February 21, 2012 in Roster Talk

This is what I consider a typical Greg Sherman move. And by that, I mean it is a bit of a head-scratcher. I’m not saying it’s a bad trade, but acquiring Downie was completely out of the blue.

The Avs are getting a 24 year old RFA at the end of the year, with a mean streak, who will go to the dirty areas. Yes, the Avs need someone like that, and Downie has 28 points this year which would be 5th on the Avs. I’m just not sure what to make of the trade. It fills a need for the Avs, but I think they could have done better.

The worst possible thing a fan can do in this situation is go to a message board or forum and read what people are saying. Remember when Wojtek Wolski was traded? There was not an Avs fan who liked the trade at the time, but 2 years removed and everyone loves it.

Because I am also a bit of a fan of Tampa Bay Lightning, I have probably watched Downie play more than most Avs fans. Having said that, his game has been rather forgettable. Immediately what comes to mind for me is his history of dirty plays. I have never really liked him because of that, and I think that is why I don’t like the picture of him being on the Avs. To better understand what kind of player he is, I searched “Steve Downie” on Youtube. The first 16 videos were either fights or cheap shots. To give you a little idea of his reputation as a dirty player, take a look at these videos. Just a warning, the Crosby video made me squirm a litte.

Tampa Bay quickly turned around and shipping KQ to Detroit for a 2012 first round pick, and a minor leaguer. So the inevitable question is: What would you rather have, Steve Downie, or Detroit’s 1st round pick and prospect. The easy answer is Detroit’s pick and prospect, but I’m not so sure.

Detroit will likely compete for the cup, and that pick is almost guaranteed to be in the 25-30 range. Looking back at the 05, 06, and 07 drafts, which would give the players 4,5, and 6 years to get to the NHL, the best player drafted between 25-30 is probably either Patrik Burglund, or David Perron. Is Steve Downie (who was drafted 29th in 05) that much worse than Burglund or Perron? Probably not, and the Avs are getting a guy who can help them now.

What I don’t like about the trade, is I think the Avs could have gotten more for Quincey. I was hoping for any sort of 1st round draft pick between 10-19. I think it could have happened from a team like Chicago, San Jose, or maybe even Florida. But obviously being 5+ hours removed from the trade is way too quickly to judge a winner or losing.

Even though my gut tells me that this is a bad trade, I have to trust Greg Sherman here. He has brought in Mueller,Porter, EJ, McClement, and Varlamov in trades that I didn’t like at the time, but he has proved me wrong every time. And while most of you will disagree with at least the Varlamov trade right now, I think he will be worth a 1st round pick in the teens.

One thing is certain, tomorrow’s game just got a lot more interesting. I would also be surprised if the Avs done trading, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

